Africa News

Rhodesia is now Zimbabwe

Rhodesia is a country in Africa which is popularly known as Republic of Zimbabwe from the year 1980. It got independence from United Kingdom in the year 1965 on 11th November. The state got its name from John Rodes, who acquired the land on behalf of British South Africa Company in the 19th century. Bordering the country is South Africa on the south, Botswana in the southwest and Zambia on the northwest.

A white minority government used to govern the state till 1979. In history, the British used to refer the state as Southern Rhodesia. Before the year 1964, there were two parts namely the Southern Rhodesia and Northern Rhodesia. After independence, they became the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. They were a part of modern day Zambia, Zimbabwe and Malawi. But after independence, the people governing the country changed the name to simply Rhodesia.

This was made official in April 1980 when the Southern Rhodesia ceased to exist and the name was changed to Independent Republic of Zimbabwe.

JIT Mukherjii
After completing his MBA in Financial Management, he decided to shift to writing and took it as his full time career. Being the Editor-in-chief of this web magazine, he has got diverse interest in the field of politics and business related matters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.